Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Bench Talk / Off The Wire

The Wrap Up


By Fred Wallace


Hi, this is Fred Wallace with " Off the Wire ".

The Owen Sound Attack held their annual awards barbecue on Sunday afternoon at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore Community Centre.

Over the course of the afternoon various players were presented with awards to acknowledge their skills, achievements, academics or commitment to the organization.

It really was a lengthy list of winners, highlighted by netminder Michael McNiven and Petrus Palmu sharing the Jerry Reid Memorial Trophy as regular season MVPs, along with Nick Suzuki who captured the Butch Keeling Memorial Award as the Attack MVP in the playoffs.

Aside from the awards, I'm always fascinated by how emotional the afternoon gets; not just this year, but seemingly every year for as long as I can remember.

This year, last year, every year, there's always a sequence of events and moments that buckle the proceedings, which likely is a testament to how emotional hockey as a sport can be, especially with the age group we're fortunate to watch here in our backyard.

But the emotions of Sunday are bypassed by the release of the schedule and the return to training and the very real possibility that this coming season can be even better than last year for the Owen Sound Attack.

I'm Fred Wallace

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc